校訓

首頁 香港都會大學簡介   校訓  
 
‌

在2015年12月15日舉行的第二十四屆畢業典禮上,前任校長黃玉山教授公布正式確立「公誠毅樸,開明進取」為校訓。這校訓是由校內同學、同事、校友及校董所提交約100份校訓建議中,經校訓遴選委員會從中選出兩份作品,再整合和完善後獲校董會批准而成為新校訓。 大學希望同學和同事們,能以「開明進取」的胸襟及態度去逐步實現「公誠毅樸」這個崇高而切實的教育理想。校訓的具體意義如下:
  
  公:  天下為公、求學為公。教育以修身為基礎,以貢獻社會、兼善天下。
  誠: 開誠布公,抱誠守真,代表修身的至善人格,發揮知識份子應有的風骨氣節。
  毅: 剛毅不屈,沉毅寬厚。勤毅補拙,是中國獨有教育觀。毅力使人人達標,人人平等。
  樸: 樸實無華、返璞歸真、契合自然、保護大自然,是天人合一的境界。
  開: 天工開物、開明開放、開創開拓,意味著知識就是力量,智慧開創先河。
  明: 明德格物、慎思明辨、明辨是非。顯示教育的任務在於發揚光明偉大的德性。
  進: 進德修業,奮力進取。教育是終身學習,永遠向前,永遠更新。有永恆的內在原動力。
  取: 挫而不折,積極進取。取,除了是一種心志鍛煉之外,也有其道德取向,向敗壞說不,完成大我,是教育過程的最大收獲。

勵學致遠 敬慎日新
Transcendence through Erudition and Renewal

大學在2021年9月1日重新命名後,成立了一個由教職員、學生和校友代表組成的工作小組審視大學的校訓。經詳細商議,工作小組向校董會提交了新校訓的建議。大學校董會於2022年6月16日通過「勵學致遠 敬慎日新 (Transcendence through Erudition and Renewal)」為大學的新校訓。

「勵學致遠」著重發奮學習和有所作為;「敬慎日新」則強調努力不懈,持續提升個人品性與德行。大學的使命旨為學生提供優質教育,增進他們的知識和培育良好的品格。新校訓不但與大學的使命相符,同時反映大學的核心價值和策略發展目標。

香港都會大學以推動學生學習、增進知識和提升研究為使命,並著重發展專業及應用課程,以配合學生對學習的期望及回應社會對人才的需求。大學秉持公正、誠信、堅毅和創新等核心價值提供優質的教育。為配合市場趨勢及企業需求,大學一直提供具競爭力的專業課程,協助學生的職業生涯規劃。

都大一直致力為學生提供多元教育,幫助他們掌握實用的技能,培養成熟的思維,讓他們通過大學的學習及體驗發揮潛能,展翅高飛。大學同時培育學生的社會責任感和終身學習的精神,激發他們的創新能力,為自己和社會創造更美好的明天,畢業後成為推動社會完善及進步的動力。

校訓出處如下:

清學者梁章鉅《歸田瑣記·謝古梅先生》:敦品勵學,實為儒宗。
《淮南子‧主術訓》:是故非澹泊無以明德,非寧靜無以致遠
諸葛亮《誡子書》:非澹泊無以明志,非寧靜無以致遠
《管子.内業》:敬慎無忒,日新其德。

University Motto

Home About HKMU   University Motto  
Content1

‌
At the 24th Congregation held on 15 December 2015, former President Yuk-Shan Wong formally announced the University motto in Chinese: ‘公誠毅樸.開明進取’. The Motto was approved by the University Council following an open competition involving all students, staff, alumni and the Council. About 100 motto proposals were received in the competition and two finalist proposals – both submitted by students – were selected by the Motto Selection Committee. The two finalist proposals were subsequently merged and refined to form the final Motto that was approved by the University Council.

The motto in Latin is “Disce, Progredere, Crea”. The Motto encapsulates both the Chinese and Western views on education: providing well-being, fairness and justice to all, and that all students and staff shall act with integrity and honesty, and live in harmony with the nature. They must learn, advance, and create with an open mind and strive for success with perseverance.

Motto narrative in English is as follows:
  公: 

天下為公、求學為公。教育以修身為基礎,以貢獻社會、兼善天下。

Education is a Public Good. Chinese educational philosophy starts with self-cultivation, managing the family, contribute to the country and then pacify the world.

  誠: 

開誠佈公,抱誠守真,代表修身的至善人格,發揮知識份子應有的風骨氣節。

Integrity is the core of education. Education’s ultimate goal is to seek the truth, and uphold the truth. Integrity means insistently practicing what we preach.

  毅: 

剛毅不屈,沉毅寬厚。勤毅補拙,是中國獨有教育觀。毅力使人人達標,人人平等。

Perseverance requires will power that makes a person resilient against adverse learning challenges. Diligence and efforts can overcome any inadequacies in intellectual endowment in learning. With perseverance, education is achievable for all, and thus education becomes equitable.

  樸: 

樸實無華、返璞歸真、契合自然、保護大自然,是天人合一的境界。

Education seeks simplicity of life and environmental sustainability. Ultimately it seeks understanding of the Nature and harmonizing with the Nature.

  開: 

天工開物、開明開放、開創開拓,意味著知識就是力量,智慧開創先河。

Open and flexible learning unleashes creativity and innovation that come from within the self. Learning with open-mindedness generates curiosity and prompts discovery.

  明: 

明德格物、慎思明辨、明辨是非。顯示教育的任務在於發揚光明偉大的德性。

Understanding is the prime function of education, as it cultivates students to understand the illustrious virtues and knowledge through meticulous investigations.

  進: 

進德修業,奮力進取。教育是終身學習,永遠向前,永遠更新。有永恆的內在原動力。

Progressive education is an ongoing journey that is always forward looking, self-renewing, transforming and is thus lifelong learning, motivated by the inner drive from the heart.

  取: 

挫而不折,積極進取。取,除了是一種心志鍛煉之外,也有其道德取向,向敗壞說不,完成大我,是教育過程的最大收穫。

Acquisition is the utmost gain in education, such as acquiring knowledge, understanding and insights that would continuously advance the self. The integrity of an educated person is to hold firm to the truth, and say no to distortion and corruption of the truth.

勵學致遠 敬慎日新
Transcendence through Erudition and Renewal

After the retitling of the University on 1 September 2021, a working group comprising representatives of staff, students and alumni was set up to review the University motto. Following an extensive deliberation process, the Working Group on the University Motto made its recommendation to the Council. At its meeting of 16 June 2022, the Council approved the adoption of the new motto:“勵學致遠 敬慎日新”(Transcendence through Erudition and Renewal).

“勵學致遠”emphasises steadfast learning and its long-term accomplishments, while“敬慎日新”focuses on the determined and continuous renewal of one’s character and virtue. The motto matches the mission of the University to provide quality education to its students and nurture the enhancement of both knowledge and character. It also reflects the core values and strategic goals of the University.

The mission of HKMU is to advance learning, knowledge and research to meet the learning aspirations of its students and the talent needs of society. The University offers quality education, guided by its core values of fairness, integrity, perseverance and innovation. Its programmes are tailored to adapt to market trends, thus providing its students with quality education and a clear career path.

HKMU is committed to equipping its students with all-round education, valuable skills and a mature mindset, and helping them discover and realize their full potential to reach a higher level through their educational experience at HKMU. The University also cultivates a sense of social responsibility and the desire for life-long learning, and seeks to facilitate and empower its students to innovate and invest in a better future for both themselves and the community. HKMU graduates are expected to become a driving force to promote the well-being and further progress of society.

The motto is derived from ancient treatises, with details as follows:

清學者梁章鉅《歸田瑣記·謝古梅先生》:敦品勵學,實為儒宗。
《淮南子‧主術訓》:是故非澹泊無以明德,非寧靜無以致遠
諸葛亮《誡子書》:非澹泊無以明志,非寧靜無以致遠
《管子.内業》:敬慎無忒,日新其德。