Home About HKMU   Governance & Organisation   Council  

Functions of the Council

The Council is the supreme governing body of the University. It has general control over the administration of the University and the conduct of its affairs. On behalf of the University, it may exercise any of the powers conferred and shall perform all of the duties imposed by law on the University.

Membership of the Council



  • Ir Dr Conrad WONG Tin-cheung, BBS, JP

Deputy Chairman:

  • Mr Henry TONG Sau-chai, MH, JP


  • Mr Arnold CHENG Ka-kui


  • Prof. Paul LAM Kwan-sing, SBS, JP

Vice Presidents:

  • Prof. Reggie KWAN Ching-ping (Provost)
  • Prof. Ricky KWOK Yu-kwong
  • Prof. LUI Yu-hon, MH

Public Officer appointed by the Chief Executive:

  • Mr Esmond LEE Chung-sin, JP

Members appointed by the Chief Executive:

  • Mr Anthony CHAN Tung-shan
  • Prof. Emily CHAN Ying-yang
  • Dr Albert CHAU Wai-lap
  • Ms Diana CHEN Ningning, BBS, JP
  • Mr Alan CHEUNG Yick-lun, MH
  • Miss Yvonne CHOI Ying-pik, GBS, JP
  • Ir Dr Alan LAM Hiu-fung
  • Mr Bosco LAW Ching-kit
  • Ms Cecilia LEE Sau-wai, JP
  • Ms Catherine MUN Lee-ming
  • Dr Homer TSO Wei-kwok, SBS, BBS, JP
  • Mr Peter YAN King-shun, JP
  • Mr YU Chung-leung

Members appointed by the Council:

  • Prof. Joshua MOK Ka-ho
  • Prof. TAM Kar-yan, MH, JP
  • Prof. WONG Kwok-yin
  • Prof. Joan ZUO Zhong

Members nominated by the Senate:

  • Prof. William Tsang Wai-nam
  • Dr Ivy Yau Sui-yu

Member elected by full-time staff:

  • Mr Albert TSE Wai-kwong

Member elected by part-time tutorial staff:

  • Dr Kyle LAM Ka-leung

President of the Students’ Union:

  • Vacant

Secretary to Council:

  • Ms Fiona WONG Man-wai

Council Secretariat

Telephone : 2768 6835          Fax :  2789 1515