歷史與發展里程

首頁 香港都會大學簡介   歷史與發展里程  

歷史

大學輝煌歷史

香港都會大學(都大)前身為香港公開大學,除了提供優質的高等教育外,亦是一所管理完善的自負盈虧院校。經過三十多年的發展,我們已由一所只提供遙距課程的學院,轉化成為一所多元化及全面的綜合性大學,同時提供全日制學士學位、深造學位,以及兼讀制課程。大學一直為社會各行各業培育所需人才,對推動香港經濟發展作出深遠的貢獻。現時,我們是全港最具規模的自資院校,畢業生人數超過140,000人。以全日制學生人數計算,都大在本地大學中排名第六。

由遙距進修學院發展至綜合性大學

大學是開辦開放及遙距教育的先鋒,於1989年由政府創辦,當時名為「香港公開進修學院」。自成立以來,學院致力實踐「有教無類」的使命,為在職人士提供優質及彈性的進修機會。經過多年的穩步發展,公大於1997年5月正名為「香港公開大學」。

為配合香港的教育改革,大學於2001年首度推出五個全日制面授副學位課程,並於2003年推出第一個全日制面授學位課程,吸引了不少中學畢業生報讀,學生人數不斷攀升。公大於2007年加入「大學聯合招生辦法」,是大學的重要里程,顯示其實力與其他本地政府資助大學無異。

專業實用課程 迎合社會需要

與此同時,大學的課程發展亦一日千里。大學初期只開辦有限的兼讀制課程,後來不斷積極拓展課程種類、範圍,以及提升教學質素。時至今日,都會大學開辦約220個課程,包括約800個全日制或兼讀制的學科,而我們開辦的課程專業實用,積極回應市場的需求,緊貼不同行業的發展,例子包括大學具優勢的課程如創意藝術、檢測和認證、護理學、物理治療、能源及環境學、幼兒教育、心理學、企業管治及款待管理等。

我們的努力亦獲得政府的認同。自2015年起,我們已有部分課程獲納入政府的「指定專業/界別課程資助計劃」(SSSDP)。該計劃透過資助修讀自資院校的學生,為有殷切人力資源需求的特定行業培育人才。2021/22學年開始,我們獲分配的資助學額佔全數逾三分之一,為自資院校之冠,顯示政府對都大課程質素的肯定,亦反映大學積極開辦專業課程以回應香港殷切需求的成果。

護理學課程為都大最受歡迎的課程之一。自2005年推出兩個護理學本科生課程以來,報讀人數持續上升。現時,都會大學每年的護理學課程畢業生人數為全港院校之冠。

擴展校園以配合急速發展

為配合大學的急速發展,都會大學歷年來開展了多個大型校園擴建工程項目。大學於1996年遷往何文田校舍現址;又於2000年在上環信德中心成立首個校外教學中心 ─ 港島教學中心,並作為李嘉誠專業進修學院的總部;其後於2009年完成第二期校舍的擴建工程。李嘉誠專業進修學院於2013年遷入葵興教學中心,空間比原來的港島教學中心增加約三倍。大學的賽馬會校園則於2014年正式啟用,作為創意藝術、檢測和認證,以及護理與健康相關課程的運作基地。此校舍不但為日益增多的學生提供更寬敞的空間,同時亦為課程配備了先進的教學設施。

為回應與日俱增的醫療服務需求,都會大學剛完成了新的校園發展計劃,興建賽馬會健康護理學院。新校舍於2021年1月落成啟用,除了為護理及健康相關的課程配備先進的教與學設施,亦為學生及教職員提供寬敞的休憩空間。

大學更改名稱

經歷三十多年的迅速發展,大學取得了驕人的成就。雖然大學已轉型,但社會上仍有許多人以為我們只提供遙距教育。這些誤解無疑引起了不少挑戰,亦為大學和其畢業生的發展造成了障礙。

大學於2019年決定探討重新命名的可能性,以更適切反映大學的現況、性質、優勢及將來的發展。經過與持份者多輪的諮詢以及嚴謹的評選程序,校董會於2020年12月10日通過「香港都會大學」為大學的新名稱。立法會亦於2021年7月14日正式通過修改大學條例。

大學於2021年9月正式採用新校名「香港都會大學」,標誌著我們在香港這國際大都會中的獨特定位,並展現廿一世紀的抱負和目標。

發展里程

2021

重新命名為香港都會大學

2020

香港公開大學賽馬會健康護理學院啟用

2019

三十周年校慶

2017

香港特區政府批出土地興建賽馬會健康護理學院

2015

獲政府納入「指定專業/界別課程資助計劃」

2014

賽馬會校園啟用

2013

葵興校園啟用

2010

荔景校園啟用

2009

二期校舍啟用

2007

加入「大學聯合招生辦法」

2003

首次開辦全日制學士學位課程

2001

開辦首個全日制副學士課程

1997

正名為「香港公開大學」

1996

正校園啟用

1993

基於穩固的財政基礎,學院實行自負盈虧

1989

香港政府創立香港公開進修學院,提供兼讀制學士學位課程

History & Milestones

Home About HKMU   History & Milestones  

Our History

A University with a Proud History

Hong Kong Metropolitan University (HKMU), formerly The Open University of Hong Kong, is not only a provider of quality higher education, but also a well-managed self-financing entity. Over the past three decades, HKMU has evolved from primarily a distance learning institution to become a comprehensive university providing full-time undergraduate and postgraduate programmes as well as part-time programmes. Through nurturing talent to meet our society’s needs, we have made longstanding contributions to the advancement of Hong Kong’s economy. Today, we are the largest self-financing university in Hong Kong, grooming more than 130,000 graduates and ranks sixth among local universities in terms of full-time undergraduate number.

From Distance Learning Institution to Comprehensive University

The University is a pioneer of open and distance education. Established by the Government in 1989 as The Open Learning Institute of Hong Kong (OLI), we have striven to achieve our mission of “Education for All”, making quality and flexible further education opportunities available to working adults. After years of steady development, OLI attained university title in May 1997 and was renamed as The Open University of Hong Kong.

In line with the Government’s education reform, we launched the first full-time, face-to-face programmes – five Associate Degree programmes in 2001 and a Bachelor’s degree in 2003. These programmes have attracted an increasing number of fresh secondary school leavers since then. Our participation in the Government’s Joint University Programmes Admissions System in 2007 is another significant milestone that puts us on par with other established UGC institutions across Hong Kong.

Professional and Practical Programmes to Meet Society’s Needs

Parallel with this growth has been our programme development. From a relatively small number of part-time courses offered at the beginnings, we have undergone continuous and vigorous expansion in the range, scope and quality of our programme offerings. Today, we offer around 220 programmes made up of some 800 full-time and part-time courses. And this exponential growth has been a very focused one – we respond dynamically to market trends by tailoring our professional programmes to industry needs. Examples include our signature programmes in Creative Arts, Testing and Certification, Nursing, Physiotherapy, Energy and Environmental Studies, Early Childhood Education, Psychology, Corporate Governance and Hospitality Management.

Our efforts are also recognized by the Government. Since 2015, some of our full-time programmes have been included in the Government’s Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (SSSDP), which subsidizes students on programmes offered by self-financing institutions that help meet Hong Kong’s manpower shortages in specific industries. In 2021–22, we have been allocated more than a third of the total quota of subsidized places, the largest share among our counterparts. This reflects not only the Government’s endorsement of our programme quality, but also our success in making available relevant professional programmes that meet the pressing needs of Hong Kong.

One of the most popular programmes is our nursing studies. Since the launch of the two undergraduate degree programmes in nursing in 2005, enrolment has been increasing and HKMU now produces the largest number of nursing graduates among local institutions each year.

Campus Expansion to Cater for Rapid Growth

To cater for the rapid growth, the University has undertaken significant campus expansion over the years. We moved to Ho Man Tin in 1996 and opened our first off-campus learning centre in Shun Tak Centre in Sheung Wan in 2000 as the headquarters of Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE). In 2009, the University completed Phase II of the Main Campus. In 2013, LiPACE was moved to the Kwai Hing Learning Centre, which provides 3 times the space of the original premises. In 2014, the Jockey Club Campus was opened to house our new programmes in Creative Arts, Testing and Certification as well as Nursing and Healthcare. The expansion has provided not only more space for our growing student population, but also new state-of-the-art facilities to serve the needs of our programmes.

To address the rising needs for healthcare services in the community, the University recently completed a new campus project – the HKMU Jockey Club Institute of Healthcare (IOH). Officially opened in January 2021, the new campus provides not only modern teaching and learning facilities for nursing and healthcare programmes but also spacious amenities for all HKMU staff and students to enjoy.

University Retitling

After more than 30 years of rapid development, the University has gone through remarkable changes. Despite the transformation, many people still perceived the University as a purely distance education institution, which had posed challenges and hindered further development of the University and our graduates.

To better reflect our current status, focuses and strengths, and to facilitate our further development, the University therefore decided in 2019 to explore the possibility of retitling. After a series of consultations with major stakeholders and a stringent process of selection of title, the new University title, “Hong Kong Metropolitan University”, was approved by the Council on 10 December 2020. Formal approval of amending the ordinance governing the University from the Legislative Council was then obtained on 14 July 2021.

On 1 September 2021, the University launched our new title, “Hong Kong Metropolitan University”, which marks our unique position in metropolitan Hong Kong and points to our aspiration in the 21st century.

Our Milestones

2021

Re-titled as Hong Kong Metropolitan University (HKMU)

2020

Opened OUHK Jockey Club Institute of Healthcare

2019

Celebration of the OUHK 30th Anniversary

2017

Granted land by the HKSAR Government for construction of new Jockey Club Institute of Healthcare

2015

Approved by the HKSAR Government under ‘Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions / Sectors (SSSDP)’ Programmes

2014

Opened Jockey Club Campus

2013

Opened Kwai Hing Campus

2010

Opened OUHK-CITA Campus

2009

Opened Phase Two Campus

2007

Became a Joint University Programmes Admissions System (JUPAS) member university

2003

Launched full-time degree programmes

2001

Launched the first full-time programme at associate degree level

1997

Re-titled as The Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK)

1996

Opened Main Campus

1993

Began financially independent, given sound financial performance

1989

Established by the Hong Kong Government as The Open Learning Institute of Hong Kong (OLI) to offer part-time degree programmes