MU Connect issue 1 (Jan 2022) page 26 and 27

Home About HKMU University Publications MU Connect MU Connect issue 1 (Jan 2022) page 26 and 27
Honorary Fellows and Doctors

Every year, the University recognizes outstanding achievements
and contributions of distinguished individuals by
conferring Honorary Fellowships and Doctorates. On 14 November 2021, HKMU bestowed Honorary Fellowships on
respected philanthropist Mr Chan Cheuk-ming, or 'Sham Shui
Po Ming Gor' (left), renowned pop singer, author and professor
Dr Agnes Miling Chan (middle), and leading hotel industry
executive Mr Michael Li Hon-shing (right).

This was followed by the Honorary Degrees Ceremony on 1 December, honouring Secretary of the Party Committee and President of The Open University of China Dr Jing Degang (Doctor of Education, honoris causa) (left), the University's Emeritus President and current Chairman of the Research Grants Council Prof. Yuk-Shan Wong (Doctor of Social Sciences, honoris causa) (middle), and Emeritus Professor and Senior Advisor of the PolyU School of Optometry Prof. George Woo (Doctor of Social Sciences, honoris causa) (right).


New series of Knowledge for All

The University has been broadcasting educational television programmes on public TV channels since its establishment, and has been in collaboration with Television Broadcasts Limited (TVB) since 2009. The two parties have recently renewed their partnership to launch a new series of Knowledge for All. A press conference to kick start the collaboration was held on 17 September 2021 and officiated by President Prof. Paul Lam Kwan-sing and TVB Deputy General Manager (Legal & International Operations) Mr Desmond Chan Shu-hung.

The new series, covering a wide spectrum of topics, is broadcast on TVB Pearl every Sunday morning from 9 am to 1 pm starting from 5 September, providing opportunities for the public to acquire new knowledge.

IOH facilities named in honour of philanthropic support

The Jockey Club Institute of Healthcare (IOH) development project has received enthusiastic support and contributions from the community. To express the University's appreciation in receipt of the heartening gift of HK$15 million from the Wu Jieh Yee Charitable Foundation, a naming ceremony was held on 11
October 2021, renaming the lecture theatre and education unit in the building as Wu Jieh Yee Lecture Theatre and Tai Ning Nursing Skills Education Unit. Officiating at the ceremony were Secretary of the Wu Jieh Yee Charitable Foundation and HKMU Court member Dr Philip Wu Po-him, Governors of the Foundation Mr Jason Wu Shang-hong, Mr Victor Chan Hoi-fung, and Ms Tansy Lau Ching-yi, Pro-chancellor Dr the Hon
Charles Lee Yeh-kwong, Council Chairman Mr Michael Wong Yick-kam, Deputy Council Chairman Ir Dr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung, and President Prof. Paul Lam Kwan-sing.

Another naming ceremony was held on 17 November to acknowledge the generous donation of HK$8 million from alumna cum Honorary University Fellow Miss Connie Fong Yin-king and her family in support of the IOH and four healthcare-related research projects. The education unit located on the eighth floor of the building is now named as Fong Connie Nursing Skills Education Unit.

Katie Shu Sui Pui Endowment Fund

The University has recently received a generous donation of HK$20 million from alumna Ms Katie Shu to establish the Katie Shu Sui Pui Endowment Fund, which will support the seven programmes set up through the Katie Shu Sui Pui Charitable Trust. The fund will generate more resources for various initiatives, motivating faculties and students to strive for excellence.
Record high scholarships and bursaries

In 2020 to 2021, 1,311 students were presented with scholarships and bursaries totalling HK$13 million. Both the number of recipients and the total sum awarded hit record highs, speaking highly of the community's support towards the University and its students. These financial awards were handed out at the annual Scholarship and Bursary Awards Presentation Ceremony on 27 August 2021.