HKSAR Self-financing Post-secondary Scholarship Scheme

Student Affairs Office Scholarships and Prizes   HKSAR Self-financing Post-secondary Scholarship Scheme  

The Self-financing Post-secondary Scholarship Scheme (SPSS) aims to give recognition not only to students with outstanding academic performance, but also those with achievements and talents in other non-academic fields. In 2022/23, the HKMU takes pride in having more than 900 students/graduates granted scholarships including the Outstanding Performance Scholarship (OPS), Best Progress Award (BPA), Talent Development Scholarship (TDS), Reaching Out Award (ROA), Endeavour Scholarship (EDS), totaling over $16 million.  Please click here to view the list of awardees.

Who’s Eligible?

  • Students pursuing full-time locally-accredited self-financing sub-degree or bachelor’s degree (including top-up degree) programmes at HKMU.

Types of Scholarships:

  • There are five types of scholarships under the Scheme, namely:
    1. Outstanding Performance Scholarship (OPS)
    2. Best Progress Award (BPA)
    3. Endeavour Scholarship (EDS)
    4. Talent Development Scholarship (TDS)
    5. Reaching Out Award (ROA)
  • Please read the HKMU Information Sheet for details or visit the Government website.

How to Submit Self-Nomination?

  • Applicants should login to submit self-nomination for
    Endeavour Scholarship (EDS), Talent Development Scholarship (TDS) or Reaching Out Award (ROA).
  • Please read the respective “Guidance Notes” before completing the online application
    EDS Guidance Notes [SPSS_EDS (2022/23) Guide-e]
    TDS Guidance Notes [SPSS_TDS (2022/23) Guide-e]
    ROA Guidance Notes [SPSS_ROA-B (2022/23) Guide-e]
  • Applicants should seek recommendation from Schools.
    EDS and TDS applicants please invite one full-time academic staff of their School to sign on the recommendation form [SPSS_EDS (2022/23) Recom-e or SPSS_TDS (2022/23) Recom-e].
    ROA applicants please seek endorsement [SPSS_ROA-B (2022/23) Recom-e] from their Programme Leader.
  • Awardees of Outstanding Performance Scholarship (OPS) and Best Progress Award (BPA) are nominated by Schools based on their academic achievements and other criteria of scholarships, students are not required to submit relevant applications.
  • The University has set up a Selection Panel, comprising the Vice President (Students & Support), School Deans and SAO Director.  All the above scholarships and awards will be considered by the Sub-committee on Support Measures of the CSPE on the nomination of the University.
  • Self-nomination Deadline:
    EDS 04 December 2022 (Sunday)
    TDS 04 December 2022 (Sunday)
    ROA 06 January 2023 (Friday)

Notification of Result

  • The internal nomination result will be announced (via e-mail) by early February 2023.  Final results and payment arrangement will be announced by May 2023.