圖書館服務通訊 (2022年11月)

圖書館 圖書館服務通訊 (2022年11月)  

第70期 (2022年11月)

「快要交功課了!」

「快要考試了!」

相信大家現在都密鑼緊鼓,為學習拼搏中。為了幫助你更輕鬆地渡過這學習旅程,我們在本期為你搜集了多項資訊,包括我們即將舉行的圖書館工作坊、幫助你在做功課或準備考試時能輕鬆尋穫圖書館資源的小提示,以及為你推介有助提高英語技能的圖書館電子資源。我們還會與你分享圖書館的最新消息和推廣活動。

希望你能透過這一期的圖書館通訊,找到成功學習的關鍵!

輕鬆學習—來參加圖書館工作坊吧

來到學期的一半,大家都如火如荼的在準備報告和小組研究,圖書館為了讓大家在準備作業的時候更得心應手,準備了一系列於11-12月舉行的網上以及面授工作坊。

想搜尋來自不同學院、跟自己學科相關的畢業論文?這個工作坊可以幫你了解更多。

♦ 尋找畢業論文全文資源 – 11月11日

【報名參加】

你是否對引文並列明出處感到陌生,或是對於管理一大堆參考書目感到茫無頭緒?還不把握機會報名參加這兩場工作坊?

♦ 如何引文並列明出處與避免抄襲 – 11月18日

♦ 使用EndNote Web管理參考文獻 – 11月23日

【報名參加】

圖書館邀請了資料庫供應商代表為大家介紹和示範,幫助大家增加對電子資料庫的認識,讓你更能輕鬆完成作業。

♦ Scopus – A powerful analytical tool to start your research journey – 12月7日

Scopus是一個涵蓋科學期刊、書籍和會議文集的摘要和引文數據庫。

【報名參加】

如何從書架中尋找紙本書?

你有否疑惑過,為甚麼心理學相關的書籍會放在圖書館「B」分類書架,而醫學相關的書籍則放在「R」分類書架?

圖書館廣泛收藏不同種類的印刷本書籍,它們均以「美國國會圖書館分類法」,按照不同學科分類,並以書脊上的索書號排列在書架上。因此,根據「美國國會圖書館分類法」指引,有關心理學的書籍會排列在「B」分類書架上,而醫學相關的書籍則存放在「R」分類書架。想查看完整的分類列表,可以參考「美國國會圖書館分類法」網頁。

我們亦將分類法的標示貼在書架上,方便讀者參考。此外,你也可閱覽「索書號介紹」指南了解甚麼是索書號。

歷屆試卷哪裏尋?

考試將至,同學開始溫習之前,不妨先到圖書館看看我們的指定參考資料。圖書館收藏了部份課程的歷屆試卷,可以幫助你熟悉考試的形式和試題,令你溫習時更事半功倍。

圖書館提供兩種歷屆試卷,印刷本可向圖書館服務台查詢並借閱兩小時,電子版則可直接在網上閱覽。同學只需在LibSearch輸入完整課程編號,以「資源種類」下的「考試卷」篩選搜尋結果,就可以閱覽電子版本或查看印刷本的所在圖書館,以便在服務台借閱。

同學可到圖書館指導中閱覽尋找歷屆試題之詳細教學或影片示範。

請注意,部份學科並沒有在圖書館存放考試卷。如找不到考試卷,請直接向你的課程主任查詢。

圖書館資源推介

正在準備口頭報告,希望自己口語技巧可以更進步?正在埋首做功課,希望提升寫作技巧?多多利用圖書館訂購的電子資源來助你一把吧!

圖書館在Clarity English訂購了多個網上課程,以幫助你提高閱讀(Active Reading課程)、口語(Clear Pronunciation 2課程)和寫作技巧(Practical Writing課程)。如果你要參加IELTS,我們還為你準備了網上溫習工具Road to IELTS (Full Version – Academic) 

除了Clarity English,同學還可以善加利用 Net Languages的網上課程。這個電子資源可以幫助你複習英語語法(Grammar Practice)和詞彙(Vocabulary Practice),另外還提供寫作、工作英語、健康專業英語和IELTS的網上課程。請瀏覽我們的資料庫A-Z,了解更多有關 Clarity EnglishNet Languages的網上課程內容。

最後,在交功課之前,不要忘記一個重要的步驟——拼寫檢查!請充分利用我們的網上詞典工具,以確保你用心寫作的文章,不會被粗心大意的拼寫錯誤打了折扣。

圖書館指導及網上教室短片

現在已是學期中了,你正在忙著做作業吧﹗我們為你準備了各類小貼士,讓你能更有效地查找圖書館資源。

如你想查找本地及海外的統計數據資源,你可到「尋找統計資料」指南。

新聞報章也是有用的參考資料。「尋找新聞報章」指南提供不同的新聞媒體資源助你尋找本地及海外新聞報章。

尋找畢業論文全文資源」指南幫助你尋找本地及海外的畢業論文資源。如你開始撰寫論文或想尋找他人論文作參考,可搜索有關資料庫。

儘管大學鼓勵同學多閱讀及使用參考資料,同學需要留意,引用他人作品時,你必須在作業上註明出處,以避免抄襲嫌疑。圖書館為你們準備了「避免抄襲」及「引文及列明出處」指南,讓大家了解更多。

我們亦準備了如何尋找圖書館資料及「引文及列明出處」糸列等指導影片,同學可以到「網上教室」觀看。

圖書館迎新短片,帶你遊歷大小角落!

第一次來到圖書館,在不同區域和書架間穿梭,會否彷如開始了歷險旅程,新鮮卻又有點迷失?

圖書館邀請了就讀人文社會科學院創意藝術學系的創意寫作與電影藝術課程的同學,他們以愛麗絲夢遊仙境為靈感,製作了一段精彩有趣的迎新短片,帶同學走遍圖書館的每個角落,介紹各種設施和服務。短片從劇本、拍攝、後期製作,以及道具服裝等,都由同學一手包辦,用心製作。

事不宜遲,馬上收看影片,走進奇妙的圖書館之旅吧!

何鴻燊圖書館翻新工程

圖書館一直致力提升服務質素和改善設施,以切合同學和教職員的需要。為此,我們在2022/23學年,於何鴻燊圖書館二樓籌備設立小組研習室,並配備電子白板,供同學們協作學習之用。此外,亦會提供不同類型的桌椅,更貼合大家的學習和教研需要。無論你需要自習還是和同學一起討論,圖書館都能滿足你所需!

現時,圖書館正整理館藏及書架,以騰出更多空間進行改善工程。對於施工期間產生的噪音,請讀者們見諒。

告訴我們你最愛的圖書館溫習地方

你常常到圖書館溫習嗎?哪裏是你最喜歡的溫習地點?

來與我們分享你的最愛吧!由現在到 2022 年 11 月30日,追蹤我們的 Instagram (@hkmulib) 並給你最喜歡的溫習地點一個「讚」。

為答謝各位追蹤者,我們為大家準備了一份紀念品。如果你點「讚」了最受歡迎的溫習地點,你還有機會獲得圖書館限量版帆布袋作為紀念品!活動詳情請瀏覽圖書館網頁。

下課後,何不前往何鴻燊圖書館和何息夷圖書館,或透過我們的虛擬導覽,認識一下我們為你準備的每一個學習空間!

圖片設計
陳可盈 Oderfla Yoma Fung
人文及社會科學院學生
2022

過往內容

Library Service Updates (Nov 2022)

Library About Us   Library Publications   Library Service Updates   Library Service Updates (Nov 2022)  

Issue No. 70 (November 2022)

“Assignment due!”

“Exam is coming!”

All of you should be working very hard for your study right now. To help you to have an easier study journey, we have gathered all the useful information in this issue for you, including our upcoming library workshops, tips on finding library resources for your homework or for exam preparation, as well as our featured resources to help you to brush up your language skills. We will also tell you about the happenings in the Library and our events for you.

Read on and hope you will find your key to successful learning!

Learn with ease—Let’s join our library workshops!

Here we are halfway through the semester, everyone is busy on preparing their assignments and group projects.

The Library has prepared a series of online and face-to-face workshops from November to December in order to level up your skills in using or searching library resources, making your assignments and projects preparation easier!

If you are searching for dissertations from different universities or on specific topics, this workshop can help you to learn more.

♦ Finding dissertations or thesis for your study – 11th November

Sign up now!

Unfamiliar to citation? Don’t know how to manage dozens or hundreds of references? These two workshops will be your great chance to know about it!

♦ Citing references and avoiding plagiarism – 18th November

♦ Managing citations with EndNote Web – 23rd November

Sign up now!

To enhance your understanding of different databases, representatives of database vendors will be invited to introduce and give demos on using the databases. Learn more about the databases, they are good tools for your works!

♦ Scopus – A powerful analytical tool to start your research journey – 7th December 2022
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

Sign up now!

How to locate a print book from the book shelves?

Have you ever wondered why psychology-related titles are found on Class “B” book shelves while the medicine-related titles on Class “R” book shelves in the Library?

The Library has an extensive collection of printed items, which are classified by the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) Scheme according to different subjects. Books are then arranged on shelves by the call number found on the spine of the books. Therefore, according to LCC Scheme, when you look for psychology-related titles, you need to go to Class “B” book shelves and Class “R” book shelves for medicine-related titles. You may go to the Library of Congress Classification Scheme website to check the full list of classification.

We have prepared notes of LC Classes and you can find them on the book shelves. There is also a simple guide “How to read Call Numbers” to help you understand how call numbers are arranged.

How to search for past exam papers?

Examination is near. Before you start your revision, drop by the Library and look at our Reserve Collection. We have past exam papers from selected courses in the Library that could help you familiarize with the exam format and make your study more effective.

The printed version of exam papers could be borrowed at the Service Counter for two hours, while the e-version could be accessed online. Type in the full course code in LibSearch and refine the results with “Exam Paper” under “Resources Type” to access the e-version or check the location of the printed copies.

You could go to the Library Guides for complete steps of finding past papers or video demonstration.

Please note that exam papers of some courses are not provided to the Library. If the exam papers are not found, please contact your course coordinator directly.

Featured library resources for your study

Want to improve your speaking and writing skills for presentation and assignment preparation? The Library has subscribed to the following resources to help you!

We had subscribed to various online courses from Clarity English to help you brushing up your reading skills (Active Reading course), speaking skills (Clear Pronunciation 2 course) and writing skills (Practical Writing course). If you are going to take IELTS, we also have the online preparation tool, Road to IELTS (Full Version – Academic) for you.

Apart from Clarity English, you can also learn from other useful online courses of Net Languages. This resource can help you revising your grammar (Grammar Practice) and vocabulary (Vocabulary Practice). There are also online courses on writing, English for work, English for health professional and preparation for IELTS. Please visit our A-Z databases list to find out more about Clarity English and Net Languages.

Finally, before submitting your assignment, don’t forget an important step – spell check! Make a good use of our online dictionaries tools so that your well written assignment would not be spoiled by careless mistakes.

LibGuides and "How to..." videos

It’s now mid-term and you must be getting busy with your assignments. The Library has provided you tips for finding resources which can help you to prepare your assignments more effectively.

If you would like to find statistics from reliable resources, you may visit our “How to find Statistics” guide which serves as a starting point to look for relevant statistics and economics & market data.

News and newspapers are also useful reference resources. Go to the “How to find News Articles” library guide to search for local and international news.

The “How to find Dissertations and Theses” guide can help you to locate dissertations and theses from local and worldwide resources. If you start preparing your paper and would like to get some inspiration from others’ works, the Dissertations and Theses databases would be of help to you.

While you are encouraged to use different resources as references, you should have a proper acknowledgement when quoting the works in order to avoid plagiarism accusations. Please visit our “Avoiding Plagiarism” and “Citing Sources of Information” guides to learn more about the topics.

We have also prepared a numbers of guiding videos for searching library resources and topical information that would be useful for your study. Go to our Online Tutorials to find out more video instructions.

Library orientation video

When you first came to the Library on campus, wandering around different areas and bookshelves, did you feel like having a new adventure? Despite feeling a bit lost, everything seems new and wonderful!

Students from the Creative Writing and Film Arts programme of the Department of Creative Arts, School of Arts and Social Sciences, have produced a Library Orientation Video inspired by the story Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. In the video, you can visit every corner in the HKMU Library following Alice’s footsteps and learn about the library facilities and services. From script writing to filming and post-production, every stage of the video making is nicely prepared by our students.

Let’s enjoy the video and come to the wonderful libraryland!

Refurbishing the Stanley Ho Library

The Library never stops enhancing the facilities and environment to improve user experience!  Enhancement work will be held on 2/F of the Stanley Ho Library, Main Campus in 2022/23.  Group study rooms with interactive whiteboard will be set up to cater for the needs of collaborative study.  A broad variety of furniture items will also be made available in the study areas.  No matter you prefer a self-study zone or a group-based learning atmosphere, the Library can accommodate your needs!

Meanwhile, Library collections and shelves are being re-arranged to free up space for renovation work. Please bear with the occasional noise generated during the work period.

We look forward to a better study space!

Tell us your favourite place for studying

Do you often visit the Library? Where is your favourite place of study?

Share with us your choice! Follow our Instagram (@hkmulib) and give a “Like” to your favourite study place from now till 30 November 2022. 

As a token of thanks, we have prepared a souvenir for our IG followers. If you are one of the voters of the study space receiving the most numbers of “Like”, you will also receive a Special Edition tote bag as souvenir! Details about this activity can be found on our website.

Please visit the Stanley Ho Library and Ho Sik Yee Library after your classes, or take a look of our Virtual Tour to see all the welcoming studying spaces we have prepared for you!

Graphics design
Chan Ho Ying Daisy, Oderfla Yoma Fung
Students of School of Arts and Social Sciences
2022

Back issues