OUHK launches its first-ever residence scholarship for Mainland Chinese students

Development and
Alumni Affairs Office
OUHK launches its first-ever residence scholarship for Mainland Chinese students


The Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) will launch a new residence scholarship programme for Mainland Chinese undergraduate students with the generous donation of HK$3 million from its Honorary University Fellow cum alumna Ms Katie Shu Sui Pui. Named after Ms Shu's charitable trust, the programme aims to attract and assist Mainland Chinese students, in particular those with financial need, to better immerse in campus life and the community of Hong Kong.

The “Katie Shu Sui Pui Charitable Trust – Residence Scholarship Programme” will be open for application in September 2019. All full-time Mainland Chinese students in their second, third and fourth year of undergraduate study at the OUHK are eligible to apply for the Scholarship. Applicants should be in good academic standing, and a total of 30 awards will be given every year with 10 awards to be granted to each of the non-freshmen cohorts. Each successful applicant will be awarded a scholarship up to HK$30,000 per annum to ease the financial burden resulting from high accommodation costs.

President of the OUHK Prof. Yuk-Shan Wong thanked Ms Katie Shu for her thoughtful gift of setting up the Residence Scholarship Programme to support worthy and needy students from Mainland China to study in Hong Kong. He believes that the initiative will not only boost more prospective students from Mainland China to apply and enroll at the OUHK, but will also encourage current mainland students to pursue academic excellence.

Ms Katie Shu is a long-term supporter of the OUHK. Since 2005, she has made multiple donations in support of the University's development on various fronts. In addition to the newly established “Residence Scholarship Programme”, Ms Shu also pledged HK$1 million in 2016 to launch the “We can Fly” programme to sponsor full-time undergraduate students to take part in local and overseas academic competitions related to innovation and creativity.

About the OUHK:
Established by the Government in 1989, The Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) has developed into a full-fledged university providing high quality and flexible university education at various levels to secondary school graduates and working adults. As a dynamic and innovative university, the OUHK currently offers about 220 programmes to nearly 10,000 full-time students and about 9,000 part-time students. Our mission is to advance learning, knowledge and research that meet students' learning aspirations and society's talent needs, focusing on practical and professional programmes.

OUHK comprises five Schools, i.e. School of Arts and Social Sciences, Lee Shau Kee School of Business and Administration, School of Education and Languages, School of Nursing and Health Studies, and School of Science and Technology. The Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE) provides lifelong learning opportunities by offering full-time sub-degree programmes, community learning and professional programmes.
OUHK website: www.ouhk.edu.hk.